How to delete an Instagram account? (Things You Should Know)

We tell you how to quickly delete an account on the Instagram social network through a computer and phone, and how to remove authorizations in various third-party services.

Can I delete my Instagram account?

Yes, you can delete your Instagram account permanently or temporarily. You can delete your profile on this social network at any time, regardless of the subject of the page or the number of subscribers.

Why delete an account?

Most often, this social network is deleted because it takes a long time. Business pages are closed if the sale of goods or the provision of services is not carried out or does not need to be promoted online.

Features of deleting a personal account

Whether or not to delete an Instagram account is up to the owner of the page. Another user from their page cannot delete your profile, regardless of the number of subscribers and other factors.

What does a deleted account look like?

If the Instagram account is deleted, the number of publications, subscribers and subscriptions is not displayed – the number “0” is indicated everywhere. You can understand that the page has been deleted by the inscription that appears when you switch to a deleted profile – “The user will not find it”. It is not possible to direct or make a video call to a deleted Instagram user.

How to save photos from your Instagram account before deleting them?

When you delete your Instagram account, all photos and videos are deleted. It will not be possible to restore them in the future, therefore, before deleting a personal profile, we recommend downloading all user data to your device – phone or computer.

You can do this manually by taking screenshots of the photos published on the page. If there are not enough pictures, then this method is perfect. It will only take 2-3 minutes, but all photos from the account will be saved.

The second way is to download photos via Instagram. To do this, go to the “Settings” section, then “Security”. Click on the “Download Data” link and enter the email address to which all files will be sent.

In order for Instagram to upload your photos and send them to the mail, you will need to provide a password for your account – this is required. If you have forgotten your password, first restore it, and then follow all the steps described again.

Usually, uploading takes from 2 to 60 minutes, but if there are a lot of photos and videos (for example, if you have been actively maintaining an account for a long time), then they can be uploaded up to 48 hours. All files will be sent as an archive to the specified e-mail.

Instructions for permanently deleting an account

To permanently delete an account on the Instagram social network, use a computer or smartphone based on iOS or Android.

Via computer

To delete an Instagram profile through a computer, use any browser: Opera, Google Chrome, Safari and others.

Step-by-step instruction:

  • Step 1. Open a browser, follow the link instagram.com and log in to the site – enter your username and password.
  • Step 2. Click on the avatar located in the upper right corner of the screen and select the “Profile” tab.
  • Step 3. Scroll to the end of the page, in the lower horizontal menu, click on the “Help” tab.
  • Step 4 Select “Account Management” and then “Delete Account”.
  • Step 5: Select the “How do I delete my Instagram account?” in the menu that appears.
  • Step 6 In the text of the page, find the link “Delete account” and click on it
  • Step 7 . Choose a reason.
  • Step 8 Enter your password and confirm deleting the profile.

Step-by-step instruction:

  • Step 1 . Open the Instagram app – enter your username and password.
  • Step 2 . Click on the avatar located in the lower right corner of the screen.
  • Step 3 Go to the “Settings” section.
  • Step 4 Click on the “Help” link.
  • Step 5 Then – “Help Center”.
  • Step 6 The page will open in a browser. In the upper right corner, click on the three-line icon.
  • Step 7 . Then – “Account Management”.
  • Step 8 In the menu that appears, select the “How do I delete my Instagram account?” section. In the text of the page, find the link “Delete account” and click on it.
  • Step 9 Choose a reason.
  • Step 10 Enter your password and confirm deleting the profile.

Via iPhone platform phone

Step-by-step instruction:

  • Step 1. Open the Instagram app – enter your username and password
  • Step 2. Click on the avatar located in the lower right corner of the screen.
  • Step 3 Go to the “Settings” section.
  • Step 4 Select the “Help” section.
  • Step 5 Then – “Help Center”.
  • Step 6 In the upper right corner, click on the three stripes icon.
  • Step 7 . Then – “Account Management”, section “Deleting an account”
  • Step 8 In the menu that appears, select the “How do I delete my Instagram account?” section.
  • Step 9 In the text of the page, find the link “Delete account” and click on it.
  • Step 10 Choose a reason.
  • Step 11 Enter your password and confirm deleting the profile.

Deletion Warning

It only takes a few minutes to permanently delete an Instagram profile. However, keep in mind that it will not be possible to restore your account. Even the social network support service will not be able to return your profile back to you – it is completely erased from the servers, including user data. We warn you that the page is deleted permanently and irrevocably.

How to delete a linked account?

If several pages are linked to your profile, and you need to delete one of them, then first log out of your account, unpin it, and then delete it according to the instructions.

To log out of your account, you need to open the Instagram app, log in and switch to the profile you plan to delete. Then open the settings and at the bottom of the page click “Log out”…. – select the desired profile and exit it.

Done, you’re out. Now re-login – enter the login of the account that you plan to delete, and click on the “Recover password” tab. The old one does not need to be specified. When recovering your password, link your account to a different email or phone number.

Now use one of the step by step instructions to delete a page on Instagram, which are given above.

Can a deleted account be recovered?

No, if you completely deleted the page from your computer or phone, you won’t be able to restore it. You can only create a profile with the previous name (nickname) if it has not already been taken by another user.

How to temporarily disable an account?

You can temporarily delete your Instagram account through a computer or phone. Step-by-step instructions for removing from a computer:

Step-by-step instruction:

  • Step 1. Open a browser, follow the link instagram.com and log in to the site – enter your username and password.
  • Step 2. Click on the avatar located in the upper right corner of the screen, open the “Profile” section
  • Step 3. Then – “Edit profile”.
  • Step 4: Scroll down the page and select Temporarily disable my account.
  • Step 5 Choose a reason. Enter your password and confirm deleting the profile.

How to remove authorization through Instagram in third-party services?

If an Instagram profile is used for authorization in third-party services, then they can track information about the user. To prevent this, it is enough to take away access permissions.

To do this through your smartphone, go to the “Settings” section, then “Security”, then “Apps and sites”.

To remove authorizations through a computer, open your Instagram profile, select “Settings”, then “Apps and sites”.

In the “Apps & Sites” section, you will see a list of third-party services that you are registered with through Instagram. To revoke access permission, simply remove the service from the list.

FAQ

Which is better – delete or temporarily disable the profile?

Only the owner of the profile can answer this question. If you no longer want to use the Instagram social network and are sure that you do not want to restore your account, then you can delete it. If you are undecided, then turn off the profile for a while. If after 2-3 months you don’t change your mind, then delete the page with full confidence.

Will it be possible to re-register on Instagram?

Yes, you can register on Instagram again – after deleting your account permanently or temporarily deactivating it. It is not allowed to create new pages. However, keep in mind that the profile will be “empty”. It will have to be completely filled out and photos added.

Conclusion

Briefly about the main:

  • You can delete a personal profile on Instagram through a smartphone or computer – choose what is more convenient for you;
  • You can temporarily disable your account on the Instagram network, then return to using it, or delete the page forever;
  • Deleting an account takes 3-5 minutes – you do not need to get approval from the social network, the profile is deleted automatically.

Leave a Comment